Composer List


Genre List

Opera Length

Advanced Search

Helmut Oehring

 b.16 July 1961, BerlinHelmut Oehring Photo © Astrid Ackermann


English    Deutsch    

Helmut Oehring was born in 1961 in East Berlin. An autodidact guitarist and composer, following consultations with André Asriel, Helmut Zapf, Georg Katzer and Friedrich Goldmann, he became a master student of Georg Katzer between 1992 and 1994 at the Berlin Academy of Arts. In 1994/95, he was guest of the Villa Massimo in Rome, and he obtained numerous prices since, including the Hanns Eisler Prize from the Deutschlandsender Kultur, the Italian Orpheus Chamber Opera Prize and the Schneider Schott Music Prize. He also was awarded the Hindemith Prize (1997) as well as the Arnold Schoenberg Prize (2008) for the entirety of his creation which comprises more than 300 works of nearly all genres up to now. Helmut Oehring’s compositions and productions are programmed by concert halls and stages throughout Europe, Asia, Northern and Southern America. He works also as conductor and stage director of his own works. In September 2011 Helmut Oehring’s autobiography With different Eyes was published by btb/Randomhouse. He is permanent Jury-member of the Karl-Szucka-Prize for international radioplay of the SWR and member of the Academies of Arts in Berlin and Saxony.

(January 2014)

This biography can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with the following credit: Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes

Mailing List

Sign up for news updates and offers via email

Audio Visual Gallery

Explore our library of 1500 online scores

FAQ | Contact Us | Links | About Us | Shop Directory | Careers | Terms of use | RSS Index