Marc Blitzstein: The Marc Blitzstein Songbook volume 3

$38.46 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M051933679
ISMN: 9790051933679
Shop Product Code: 164348C
The Marc Blitzstein Songbook volume 3

Status: Usually shipped within 15 - 20 working days

Department: Vocal & Opera - Vocal Collections

Instrumentation: Voice, Piano

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (New York)

More Product Details

More Product Details

A treasure trove of songs for middle range voice and piano by the seminal 20th century American composer, including many published for the first time. Blitzstein's works blend social commentary and political satire with charm, simplicity and humour. Perhaps best known for his adaptation of Kurt Weill's Threepenny Opera, interest in Blitzstein has been revived following the release of a new disc by Dawn Upshaw and a Hollywood film directed by Tim Robbins.

Contents and Reviews

  • after all white horses are in bed
  • After the Dazzle of Day
  • Ages and Ages
  • As Adam
  • As If a Phantom Caress'd Me
  • Autolycus-Dorcas-Mopsa Trio
  • Blow, blow, blow!
  • Court Song
  • Dusty Sun fr Native Land
  • Fool's Song
  • From Far, From Eve and Morning
  • Gods
  • I Am He
  • Into My Heart an Air
  • Jimmie's got a goil
  • Joy, Shipmate, Joy!
  • Lovely to get back to love
  • Lullaby
  • mr youse needn't be so spry
  • o by the by
  • O Hymen! O Hymenee!
  • Ode to Reason fr Danton's Death
  • open your heart
  • Orpheus (Lucius's Song) fr Julius Caesar
  • Shepherd's Song
  • Shine, shine, shine!
  • silent unday by silently not night
  • Song of the Glove
  • Sweet is the Rose
  • The Way You Are
  • Till, of a sudden
  • until and i heard
  • Vendor's Song
  • War Song
  • what if a much of a which of a wind
  • What Weeping Face
  • What's the Matter With Me?
  • when life is quite through with
  • Whilst Youthful Sports
  • yes is a pleasant country
  • you are like the snow