$16.55 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: H479
Shop Product Code: 262566A
Play Baroque! (Cello)

Status: Usually shipped within 5 working days

Subtitle: Adventures in Eighteenth-Century Style for Contemporary Cellists

Department: Strings - Cello

Publisher: Stainer & Bell

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

ABRSM Cello from 2016234
Twenty-six masterpieces of the baroque arranged and edited for cello with teaching notes and piano accompaniments

This extensive collection of favourite baroque pieces – in attractive new arrangements for cello and piano by Angela East of Red Priest – will introduce the fascinating world of eighteenth-century playing to anyone young or old who is learning on a modern instrument. Angela’s lively insights about bowing, fingering, vibrato and other aspects of baroque performance practice are sure to enhance the study of this repertoire for all teachers. In particular, non-specialists who know that an awareness of historical style can enhance the learning experience of pupils of a range of abilities from beginners to confident performers at an intermediate level will find this practical and accessible book of invaluable benefit.

Contents and Reviews


Musette from Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (JS Bach) Winter from Der getreue Music-Meister (Telemann) Curtain Tune from The Tempest (Locke) Hallelujah (short version) from Messiah (Handel) Dido’s Lament from Dido and Aeneas (Purcell) March from Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (CPE Bach) Polonaise from Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (CPE Bach) La Néapolitaine from Suite No. 2 in D (Louis de Caix d’Hervelois) Crown the Altar from Celebrate this Festival (Purcell) Rigaudon from Pièces de clavecin (Rameau) The trumpet shall sound from Messiah (Handel) Sound the Trumpet from Come Ye Sons of Art (Purcell) Air Trompette from Der getreue Music-Meister (Telemann) The Witches’ Dance from The Queen’s Masque (Johnson) Spanish Dance from Trattado de glosas (Ortiz) Air (Arne) Vivace from Symphony No. 3 (Boyce) Gavotta from Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 10 (Corelli) Giga from Violin Sonata, Op. 5, No. 10 (Corelli) Caprice from Pièces de violes, 4e livre (Marais) Hallelujah from Messiah (Handel) Concerto in D minor from L’estro armonico, Op. 3, No. 6 (Vivaldi) Nulla in mundo pax sincera (Vivaldi) Music for a while from Oedipus (Purcell) Here the deities approve from Welcome to all the Pleasures (Purcell) Miserere (Allegri) Why do the nations so furiously rage together? from Messiah (Handel)