Dave Heath: Out Of The Cool (Soprano Saxophone)

$18.22 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: CH60422
Shop Product Code: 115095T
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Out Of The Cool (Soprano Saxophone)

Status: Usually shipped within 10 - 12 working days

Subtitle: For Soprano Saxophone and Piano

Department: Woodwind - Saxophone

Instrumentation: Soprano Saxophone, Piano

Publisher: Chester Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Grade Exam Music

This product includes pieces featured in grade exams. Click on a grade to view the full syllabus.

Trinity College London Saxophone 2013-20178
Trinity College London Saxophone (Soprano/Tenor) 2017-20208
This is the first work composed by Dave Heath. It was written in 1978 after fellow flautist Richard Blake asked him to compose a jazz piece.
Out of the Cool is based on the chords and rhythm of modern jazz fully notated and in classical format.
This version is for Soprano Saxophone and Piano.

Composer's Note:
"Out Of The Cool was my first work and inspired by the music of Miles Davis and John Coltrane. It was originally written for the flute, but may equally well be played on the violin, cello or soprano saxophone.
The piece is in three sections - slow/fast/slow. I have not marked many dynamics or phrasings, and those shown are suggestions only. The slow sections in particular should be very free rhythmically, and each performer should feel free to interpret the piece in his own way. The pedalling marks, however, are more specific, as I have used them to show how notes and chords are to be sustained. Some of the blurred effects may seem strange at first, but this pedalling is essential to the style of the piece. Above all, Out Of The Cool was written to be enjoyed, so have fun with it!" - David Heath.

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!