Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Complete Concert Arias for Bass - bass & piano

$30.09 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: EB8798
ISMN: 979-0-004-18316-8
Shop Product Code: 1902574
Complete Concert Arias for Bass - bass & piano

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Subtitle: Breitkopf Urtext

Arranger: Beyer, Franz / Holl, Robert

Department: Vocal & Opera - Vocal Collections - Low Voices

Instrumentation: bass and piano

Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel

More Product Details

More Product Details

The edition by Franz Beyer contains all Mozart concert arias for the lowest voice. The nine surviving bass arias are chiefly works from Mozart's last creative phase, in which the composer offered little tidbits to the opera singers he was friends with. Deserving special attention are the arias "Per questa bella mano" K. 612 (with obbligato double bass) and "Männer suchen stets zu naschen" K. 433. While editing this aria, Beyer completed the orchestral accompaniment that Mozart had only sketched, which means that this piece is now available for the first time with an orchestral accompaniment in an authentic Mozartian style. Very valuable for performance practice are the cadenzas and “Eingänge” provided by the internationally acclaimed Mozart singer Robert Holl.

Franz Beyer's edition, which incorporates the cadenzas and "Eingänge" (ornamental flourishes) that Robert Holl has already performed in concert, provides extensive information on the performance practice of Mozart's vocal music (including appoggiaturas, recitatives, cadenzas/flourishes, dynamics) and supplies an individual commentary on the contents and historical position of each aria. Moreover, the volume contains a list of instructional methods from Mozart's day (with indications of facsimile reprints or English-language translations) as well as German and English translations of the predominantly Italian aria texts.

Contents and Reviews


1. „Io ti lascio, oh cara, addio“ KV Anh. 245 (KV 621a) 2. „Così dunque tradisci“ – „Aspri rimorsi atroci“ KV 432 (421a) 3. „Männer suchen stets zu naschen“ KV 433 (416c) 4. „Alcandro, lo confesso“ – „Non sò d’onde viene“ KV 512 5. „Mentre ti lascio, oh figlia“ KV 513 6. „Ich möchte wohl der Kaiser sein“ KV 539 7. „Un bacio di mano“ KV 541 8. „Rivolgete a lui lo sguardo“ KV 584 9. „Per questa bella mano“ (mit obligatem Kontrabass) KV 612