$49.08 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: M060114250
ISMN: 9790060114250
Shop Product Code: 158603D

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Christopher Norton Workshops - Miscellaneous

Instrumentation: 4 Violins, Piano

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes (London)

More Product Details

More Product Details

A mysterious, allusive piece for 4 violins and piano, written originally for teenagers in Christopher Norton’s native New Zealand. Another side to Christopher Norton’s style.

The Quintet for 4 violins and piano is full of subtle and delicate textures and in the third of the three movements the freedom of expression hinted at in earlier movements flows into some totally free, atonal, arhythmic (and atypical!) music. The first movement is gentle and hesitant, with longer melodies gradually appearing out of short rhythmic figures. The second movement, ostinato, features an insistent Eb, D virtually throughout and is also distinguished by piano harmonics.


Contents, Sound Samples and Reviews

  • speaker2Fantasy
  • speaker2Improvisation
  • speaker2Ostinato