• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Roughly eight months after the death of Antonín Dvorák (1 May 1904), his son-in-law Josef Suk began to compose a funeral symphony. While he was working on it fate struck a second time with the death of his beloved wife, Otilie. He dedicated the five-movement symphony to Dvorák and his daughter Otilie and named it after the Angel of Death “Asrael”.

The principal source for our edition is the first edition of the score (1907), supplemented by the corrections Suk entered at the suggestion of conductor Václav Talich (1921). The most significant change was the expansion of the orchestra to include ad libitum parts for the fifth and sixth horns.

- First scholarly-critical edition
- Includes Suk’s later corrections, including ad libitum parts for the fifth and sixth horns
- Detailed Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng) by the editor

You may be interested in

  • Beatles, The
    Complete Scores: Full Transcriptions from the Original Recordings (Hardback in Slipcase)
  • Delius, Frederick
    Collected Edition of the Works of Frederick Delius vol.10: Mass Of Life (full score)

Also By This Composer

  • Suk, Josef
    Scherzo Fantastique (Full Score) (Barenreiter)
  • Suk, Josef
    Meditation on the Old Czech Hymn "St Wenceslas" Op. 35 (Study Score)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications