• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda


British composer Mark-Anthony Turnage, one of the most acclaimed and widely-performed composers of his generation, was appointed Composer in Residence of the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 2005. His works skilfully blend classical and jazz idioms, modernism and tradition. These four performances were admired and enjoyed by critics, audiences and musicians and have an electrifying quality which is captured on these live recordings - not only première recordings, but in two cases live recordings of world premières.

29:46 Twice Through the Heart
01 03:11 No Way Out
02 03:18 Inside (Part 1)
03 03:51 Love
04 02:20 By the Sea
05 02:58 Inside (Part 2)
06 02:14 Four Walls
07 00:57 Interlude
08 06:52 Landslide
09 04:51 China Cup
SARAH CONNOLLY mezzo soprano

10 10:24 Hidden Love Song
MARTIN ROBERTSON soprano saxophone

16:42 The Torn Fields
11 01:46 Prologue
12 02:47 Loss
13 02:32 No More Jokes
14 09:48 Wounded
15 02:18 Interlude
16 03:38 The Mouthless Dead
17 03:10 Aftermath

MARIN ALSOP conductor
Pieter Schoeman leader

Twice Through the Heart recorded at Blackheath Concert Halls, London, on 16 April 2007.
Producer and engineer Tim Handley
Hidden Love Song recorded live at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, on 30 January 2006.
Tim Oldham
Mike Hatch
The Torn Fields recorded at Watford Town Hall on 11 February 2007.
Producer and engineerTim Handley
Mastering engineer Tim Handley
Publishers Schott & Co Ltd (Twice Through the Heart; The Torn Fields); Boosey & Hawkes Ltd (Hidden Love Song
Design and artwork Harrison + Co Creative

The production of this disc was made possible through the generous support of the Michael Marks Charitable Trust and Arts Council England.

Booklet text in English and German.
Total playing time: 66:15

LPO - 0031
© 2008 London Philharmonic Orchestra Limited
(P) 2008 London Philharmonic Orchestra Limited

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications