$40.03 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: 057151796X
Shop Product Code: 1722094
More Product Codes
More Product Codes
Violin Concerto (Full Score)

Status: Usually despatched within 7 working days

Department: Full Scores & Study Scores - Full Scores

Publisher: Faber Music

More Product Details

More Product Details

Full Score of Nicholas Maw's Violin Concerto.

Instrumentation: 2(II=picc+afl).2(II=ca).2(II=Ebcl).2(II=cbsn) - 4201 - timp - perc(1): SD/TD/tamb/cyms/susp.cym/glsp/vib -harp - strings.
Published by Faber Music.

‘…luxuriously scored, with sundry solos that even include one for ondes martenot. Davis acknowledges his love of French music, and there are indeed suggestions of Offenbach or Delibes, though Minkus and Glazunov seem even stronger influences. What is especially striking is the quality of the themes for the various characters and situations, among them an especially lovely one for Roxane and a stirring rataplan for Cyrano’s regiment. These themes are developed to considerable dramatic and emotional effect. Paul Murphy and the Royal Ballet Sinfonia give the score a splendidly full-blooded rendition, and the sound is agreeably spacious. It makes even a non-ballet lover such as myself wish to seek out the piece on the Birmingham Royal Ballet’s tour.’

~ Andrew Lamb, Gramophone, January 2010

Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!