Bedrich Smetana: String Quartet No 1 In E Minor (from My My Life) Score Urtext Edition

Special Offer  

RRP: $16.39 *
Now: $15.57 *

* Estimated price converted from UK retail price
Catalogue No: TP516
Shop Product Code: 226571M
String Quartet No 1 In E Minor (from My My Life) Score Urtext Edition

Status: Usually shipped within 7 working days

Department: Chamber - String Quartet

Publisher: Bärenreiter Praha

More Product Details

More Product Details

The composition of the first string quartet “From My Life” was preceded by a period of fateful changes in Smetana’s life. In 1874 he lost his hearing. Two years later he moved with his family to Jabkenice in the countryside, which seemed to him like an expulsion; he suffered from his deafness and missed contact with like-minded company. He presented the string quartet as a conversation within a close circle of four friends who discuss what is tormenting them. It is a kind of passionate and resigned dialogue between a spirited person and his destiny. Smetana’s first string quartet soon became one of the most frequently performed works in the quartet repertoire.

The musical text of the new edition is based on the “Study Edition of the Works of Bedrich Smetana”, Volume XV – Chamber Music Works.

Detailed instrumentation: Violin (2), Viola, Violoncello


Write a Review. The best reviewer each month wins 20% off their next order!