Bartók, Béla : Concerto for 2 Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra  op. BB121 (1940)  27'

arranged from Sonata for 2 Pianos and Percussion (1937)

2(II=picc).2(II=corA).2.2(II=dbn)- cyms/tam-t/tgl/BD/SD-cel-strings
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
New York, NY
Ditta Pásztory, Béla Bartók, piano / New York Philharmonic / Fritz Reiner

Repertoire Note

This transcription of the Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion, like that of the Suite op.4, was undertaken to create greater variety in the two-piano presentations of Bartók and his wife. Unfortunately, they did little to boost the Bartóks’ modest fortunes on the American platform.

Note by Malcolm Gillies

More on this Composer