• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
_"There is often wit and humour to be heard in [Carter's] work; anger in some of the earlier big pieces; increasing lyricism and beauty in the compositions of the recent decades. He is America's great musical poet." — Andrew Porter, Musical America_

The first composer to receive the US National Medal of Arts, Elliott Carter's career has now extended through seven decades. After Stravinsky dubbed his _Double Concerto_ (1961) and his _Piano Concerto_ (1967) as "masterpieces", recent years have seen an outpouring of major orchestral scores and numerous chamber works, and his style (an invention uniquely his own) has been marked by transparency, clarity of texture and directness of structure. His work is demanding and intricate, but it is also rewarding: it conveys the feeling of many things going on at once, and often mirrors human interactions and relationships.

_"One of America's most distinguished creative artists in any field" — Aaron Copland_

Works by Elliott Carter include:
_Triple Duo_ (1983) for chamber ensemble
_Symphonia for orchestra_: _Partita_ (1993), _Adagio Tenebroso_ (1994), _Allegro Scorrevole_ (1996)
_What Next?_ (1999) opera in one act

Click on the links above for further information.

Bestselling Titles by Elliott Carter

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications