• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Plays: 20

The First Mercyfor mixed voices (SATB) & piano

Boosey & Hawkes Singers
James Davey, conductor
(p) and © 2022 by Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd

Text heard on Sample:

Ox and ass at Bethlehem,
On a night, ye know of them,
We were only creatures small,
Hid by shadows on the wall.

We were swallow, moth and mouse;
The Child was born in our house,
And the bright eyes of us three
Peeped at His nativity.

Hands of peace upon that place
Hushed our beings for a space.
Quiet feet and folded wing,
Nor a sound of anything.

With a moving star we crept
Closer when the Baby slept;
Men who guarded where He lay
Moved to frighten us away.

But the Babe, awakened, laid
Love on things that were afraid;
With so sweet a gesture He
Called us to His company.

Bruce Blunt (1899–1957)

Further Information on this Work: Any reproduction, publication, further distribution or public exhibition of audio materials provided at this site, in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited.

Buy Related Products

Featured Clips

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications