• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Though the circumstances of his country shut him off from many of the twentieth century's musical developments, György Kurtág is Hungary’s leading composer. He is the heir to Webernian expressionism, determined to say much with as little as possible: "One can make music out of almost nothing" (Kurtag). Thus he favours concentrated miniatures which explore a wide range of human emotions.

_"A whole world of expression and suggestion can be packed into these exquisite, crystalline forms." — The Guardian_

Many recent works, such as _...quasi una fantasia..._ (1982-1987) and _Op.27 No.2 'Double Concerto'_ (1989-90), have added a spatial element, dispersing 'families' of instruments in different locations in the concert hall, to explore the idea of "diffused unity". His music is performed worldwide, championed by Claudio Abbado, Simon Rattle, Christoph von Dohnányi and others.

Works by Kurtág include:
_Messages of the Late Miss R V Troussova_ (1976-80) for soprano and ensemble
_Kafka Fragments_ (1985-87) for soprano and violin
_Stele_ (1994) for orchestra

Click on the links above for further information.

Bestselling Titles by György Kurtág

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications