• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Robin Holloway is a fluent and versatile composer, whose output has willingly embraced contradictory stylistic leanings. His music proved particularly controversial in the 1970s with its daring reconciliation with tonality and Romanticism in such works as Scenes from Schumann. We can now view this as modernist in instinct, perhaps being a variant of Picasso's cubist splintering of available objects, culminating in the Second Concerto for Orchestra.

His music has emotional power, skillful construction and exuberant orchestration, ranging from lush orchestral scores such as Seascape and Harvest, to the ensemble work Evening with Angels composed for the London Sinfonietta, and (in lighter vein) a series of widely-performed Serenades.

Works by Holloway include:
Clarissa (1976) Opera in two acts
Second Concerto for Orchestra (1979)
Violin Concerto (1990)

Click on the links above for further information.

Bestselling Titles by Robin Holloway

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications