• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

N.B. two suspended cymbals required in total.

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Davies Symphony Hall, San Francisco, CA
Yuja Wang, piano / San Francisco Symphony / Esa-Pekka Salonen
Press Quotes

"...alternately grand and intimately beautiful ... the result recalls the grand concertos of yore ... ravishing."
Financial Times

“Mr. Lindberg’s work, in three distinct movements, teases music lovers with homages to Ravel and Debussy, Prokofiev and Rachmaninoff, Liszt and, in the finale, Gershwin. But in doing so, the composer achieves that rarest of admixtures, a work that recalls the greatness of others while creating a sound world entirely his own.”

“The interplay between soloist and orchestra is superbly balanced—neither party seems shortchanged at any point—and Mr. Lindberg’s cadenzas for Ms. Wang in the first and second movements prove spellbinding, not least because they require all manner of subtle dynamic shifts that produce a hitherto unappreciated kaleidoscopic quality in the pianist’s tone.”
Wall Street Journal

“There’s a vibrancy and inventive energy to his music... Most striking, perhaps, are the two cadenzas Lindberg includes for the soloist—long, virtuosic stretches of unaccompanied piano music that bring the listener up close with Lindberg’s harmonic fluency and rhythmic inventiveness.”
San Francisco Chronicle

“Runs, leaps, and heavy chords are all in the Rachmaninoff virtuoso manner”
San Francisco Classical Voice


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications