• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Brucknerhaus, Großer Saal, Linz
sonic.art Saxophonquartett / Bruckner Orchester Linz / Markus Poschner
Composer's Notes

When I lived in Moscow, I wrote some compositions for saxophone quartet. They went back to an initiative of the wonderful clarinetist and saxophonist Lev Mikhailov, who founded the first saxophone quartet in Moscow. 1991 was the year I emigrated to England and one of my first commissions to compose was a piece for the Raschèr Saxophone Quartet. Then there was a big break for me in this genre, but in 2022, when I received an order for the concerto for saxophone quartet and orchestra, I looked through all my old pieces for saxophone quartet and tried to summarize all my experiences in this new composition.

The concerto begins with a cadence on the alto saxophone and has a second cadence at the beginning of the last part of the composition. But all the other three saxophones also have their short solos in the course of the piece. The horns in the orchestra play a very important role in this concert as the saxophone and horn quartets are in constant interaction. The music of the coda could be described as danse macabre.

Elena Firsova, 2023

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications