• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

3 vln.3 vla.3 vlc (or larger string ensembles)

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Programme Note

The Dumbarton Oaks Research Library commissioned Copland's Nonet in honor of the fiftieth anniversary of Mr. and Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss (who presented the library to Harvard University). The premiere was to have been conducted at a special anniversary concert by Nadia Boulanger, who was a longtime friend of the music-loving Bliss family. The work was not finished in time for that event, so Copland conducted the premiere himself with nine string players from the National Symphony, and dedicated the score to Boulanger, "after forty years of friendship." The composer authorized three string configurations for performance by larger ensembles.

-Vivian Perlis, 1998

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications