• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

solo vlc; solo perc; 2(I,II=picc).2.2(II=bcl).2(II=dbn)-2.2(I=picc.tpt).1.0-perc(1)-kbd-strings(

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes / Bote & Bock

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Olavshallen, Trondheim
Tanja Tetzlaff, cello / Hans Kristian Kjos Sørensen, percussion / Trondheim Symphony Orchestra / Baldur Brönnimann
Composer's Notes

The title of the double concerto for Cello, percussion and orchestra refers to a large painting by Jasper Johns which is made of several canvases, references to some of his own earlier works and the inclusion of various found objects. The main idea for my double concerto therefore is that these two heterogenous solo instruments, a cello and a set of percussion instruments which mainly exists of (“tuned”) found objects, should create a constant shifting in focus through multiple rhythmical and harmonic fragments which re-occur in different musical contexts by promoting a playful approach. The music unfolds its elements in a chain exerting an unrelenting pressure across the broad and discontinuous façade. A “camp” soundworld with its love of the unnatural, of artifice and exaggeration, which focuses on the note D.
Olga Neuwirth, July 2022

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications