• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Digital Score
Subscribe to nkoda

World Premiere
New York, NY
Yehudi Menuhin, violin
Repertoire Note

Inspired by Yehudi Menuhin’s playing of Bach’s solo violin sonatas, Bartók’s blend of baroque and folk influences is most evident in the first movement Tempo di ciaccona and the second-movement Fuga. Interesting companion or contrast pieces, in addition to Bach’s masterpieces, are the solo violin sonata of 1919/20 by Bartók’s colleague, Zoltán Székely, and that of 1935 by his pupil Sándor Veress. Bartók’s quarter-tone and third-tone variants to the final movement were excluded from the original edition, but are included in the latest ‘Urtext’ edition.

Note by Malcolm Gillies


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications