• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes / Universal Edition

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the USA only.


Repertoire Note

In its original orchestral version this was Bartók’s runaway success of the mid-1920s, being performed in sixty cities in 1925-26 alone. Although the various movements have different national folk types (and Bartók did originally intend an extra, Slovak movement, as well), his recurring interlude theme provides an easy continuity that listeners rarely find in his other works of this period.

Note by Malcolm Gillies


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications