• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda
This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
New York, NY
Kolisch Quartet /
Repertoire Note

This was Bartók’s last string quartet, although he did sketch a few ideas for a seventh quartet in his final year. Its sombre ritornello theme reflects his growing pessimism as the world again turned to war. The middle movements, however, hark back to some of the lighter moments of Contrasts.

Note by Malcolm Gillies

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications