• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Bartók saw the First Suite as ending his student apprenticeship, and the Second as a more mature and expressive work, with its last movement unveiling the simplicity of his new folk-derived style. In his final American years he arranged and, with his wife, performed a two piano version of this Suite (BB122). As Bartók did not ever get around to writing a full symphony, this work can well fill the after-interval symphonic slot. Alternatively, at about the same length as the Concerto for Orchestra, it can substitute for that work.

Note by Malcolm Gillies

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications