• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


*denotes optional instruments

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

This attractive suite of four folk-influenced dance movements was written in response to a performance of Catalan dancing seen by Britten and Berkeley in 1936 in the Barcelona district known as Mont Juic. The result is a witty, imaginative and resourcefully orchestrated score. The two composers never admitted which movement was written by whom, though it is accepted that Britten contributed the third and fourth.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications