• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Dante (I)



Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes (Hendon Music)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Salle Claude-Champagne, Montréal, QC
Pauline Vaillancourt, soprano / Société de musique contemporaine du Québec / Serge Garant
Composer's Notes

Dedicated to Peter Eötvös, a musician of the Stockhausen group that I met during my stay in Cologne, this music tends towards a new kind of sensitivity, sensitivity that I have always perceived in the forsaken (in Montréal, the “robineux”) since I was born. Also that beauty and purity that old people and children inspire in me, or even the closeness with death that my father and my mother have always imposed on me. Vision of an inaccessible world in a life where money and power lead everything. A life full of solitude.

— Claude Vivier

Reproduction Rights:
This program note may be reproduced free of charge in concert programs with a credit to the composer.


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications