• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes (Hendon Music)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Magog, QC
Hansheinz Schneeberger, violin / Anka Moravek, violin / Norbert Blume, viola / Eric Wilson, cello / Marius Constant
World Premiere
Muziekgebouw aan't IJ, Grote Zaal, Amsterdam
Zephyr Kwartet
Programme Note

This string quartet by Claude Vivier, although entitled on the manuscript Quatuor à cordes no. 1, is the composer’s only work for this medium. Although a student work, it was the first item he included in his catalogue of works, thereby showing his high regard for the piece. The musical language of the Quatuor à cordes bears little relation to the language of the later works for which Vivier has become known. Yet the piece is a significant achievement, both in its own terms and as the first step on one of the most compelling compositional journeys of the late twentieth century.

© Bob Gilmore
Note reproduced by permission of the author.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications