• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Festival de musique contemporaine de Nice / Claude Vivier
Programme Note

Samarkand, composed in 1981 for piano and wind quintet, is one of the most brilliantly sonorous of Vivier’s chamber works, exploring two novel and challenging domains: the world of spectral harmony and a range of pulsing, proportional rhythms (5 in the time of 4, 6 in the time of 5, etc.).

© Bob Gilmore
Note reproduced by permission of the author.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications