• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Maida Vale, London
BBC Symphony Orchestra / Clark Rundell
Composer's Notes

Submergence is written in one continuous movement, and lasts around 12 minutes. Structurally, the entire piece could be seen as a conflict between one single melodic line and the mostly chordal orchestral textures which surround it, much of the time burying the line, hence the title. The line is not confined to one instrument alone and is frequently doubled, but the cor anglais features it the most prominently, both near the opening and at the very end of the work. The initial burst of energy in the orchestra, including fast shifts of harmony and colour, propels the motion throughout most of the piece. This kinetic energy only begins to dissipate in the last third of the work, including a violin solo which leads the music to almost evaporate into total silence. There is a final flash of energy which quickly subsides, leading again to the melodic line in the cor anglais, and the work ends with a reprise of the opening chord.

David Horne, Februrary 2007

Reproduction Rights:
This programme note may be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications