• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

2.picc.2.EbCl.4.bcl.contraCl.2.contra - sopsax.altosax.tensax.barisax - 4.4.2.btbn.euph.1 - cb - perc(4) - pno

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World premiere of version
LSU Union Theater, Baton Rouge, LA
Third Coast Percussion / Damon S. Talley
Composer's Notes

RADIANT CHiLD is a micro-concerto for percussion quartet and chamber orchestra. In three connected movements, it explores joy, fear, the redundancy of work and the ultimate need for release that we all experience, but in particular in regard to parenthood. Lasting approximately 12 minutes, RADIANT CHiLD was commissioned by the New World Symphony for its percussion consort, who premiered on April 23rd 2011 at the New World Center in Miami. It is dedicated to the very tiny Avelynn Puckett, who came exuberantly into the world on May 8, 2010.

I. Ecstatic Music—

II. Gleaning the Inevitable—

III. Of Perseverance, the Daily Grind, and Release

Originally commissioned by the New World Symphony, America’s Orchestral Academy, Michael Tilson Thomas, Artistic Director, for its Percussion Consort. The version for wind ensemble was commissioned by Louisiana State University Wind Ensemble, Damon Talley, director, and Third Coast Percussion.



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications