• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski for the UK, British Commonwealth (excluding Canada), Republic of Ireland, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Netherlands, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Turkey, Israel.


World Premiere
Stanislavsy Art Theatre Mozart Hall, Moscow
Gliere & Stradivari Quartets
Repertoire Note

One of the strangest of Shostakovich’s early work is this short octet for strings. Based on the famous Mendelssohn combination of a double string quartet, it consists of a wistful prelude and a fleeting scherzo. The piece is dedicated to the memory of a young friend of the composer, a promising poet, who had died unexpectedly.

Note by Gerard McBurney


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications