• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski for the UK, British Commonwealth (excluding Canada), Republic of Ireland, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Netherlands, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Turkey, Israel.


Repertoire Note

Written in a single night, these two brief pieces are both arrangements. The first is a haunting transcription of Katerina’s aria from scene 3 of Shostakovich’s opera ‘Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District’ op.29; the result is a delicate waltz for quartet. The second piece is a version of the famous and comical Polka from the Music Hall scene of Shostakovich’s ballet ‘The Golden Age’ op.22.

Note by Gerard McBurney


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications