• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Digital Score
Subscribe to nkoda

World Premiere
Residenz, Herkulesaal, München
Midori, violin / Robert McDonald, pft
Composer's Notes


The four landscapes were important surroundings for me when studying during my “Wanderjahre”. My two summers in the US, 1955 and –56, were spent at the TANGLEWOOD Music Center, where my teachers were Roger Sessions and Aaron Copland.  The following year I went to ASCONA, Switzerland to study with Wladimir Vogel, learning 12-tone technique. REINERGASSE 11 is the address of the very romantic, decayed baroque “Palais Schönburg” in Vienna. WEST 23RD STR was my address in New York. All these “landscapes” are full of memories and atmospheres, visual as well as auditive views – they are musical life-themes for me. I was interested in developing these themes further when the deeply admired soloist Midori honoured me by wanting to play a new work for violin and piano.

Einojuhani Rautavaara

Press Quotes

“The Lost Landscapes, four sensitive memories, are narrative pieces… Rautavaara loves diversity and mixtures of all manner of different epochs of musical history and styles. Midori, with the ‘impact’ of her petite yet energetic body and her profound musicality, unfolded this flowing, gently elegiac music.”
Süddeutsche Zeitung



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications