• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Wallace Stevens (E)


2(II=picc).afl(=bass fl).1.2(I=Ebcl,II=bcl).bcl(=cbcl).1- xyl/mar/BD/3tom-t/3SD/4bongos/susp.cym; vib/sm.tam-t/log dr/tpl.bls/wdbl/guiro/almglock/cowbell/susp.cyms/sizzle cyms/SD/gong/metal pipes-pft-strings(min. players, can be expanded proportionately)

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes (Hendon Music)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Zankel Hall, New York, NY
Michelle DeYoung, mezzo-soprano / MET Chamber Ensemble / James Levine
Press Quotes

“Mr Carter’s music keeps the listener busy. The vocal lines are by and large in long, unbroken phrases and the instrumental music around them seethes. There are the snare drums and sharp percussive detonations so familiar to his music, the rippling mallet percussion and the short bursts of winds and strings. Stevens’s reflections have an outdoor setting, and you can almost hear the insects buzz and the birds chirp.”
New York Times

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications