• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Solo harp-strings(minimum

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Jordan Hall, Boston, MA
Marcel Grandjamy, harp / Zimbler String Sinfonietta (comprised of members of the Boston Symphony Orchestra)
Repertoire Note

One of his most frequently performed works, the Notturno for Strings and Harp's romantic lushness departs somewhat from Fine's earlier, neoclassic style. The work has been characterized as the composer's own blend of the styles of Chopin, Mozart, and Stravinsky. Its three movements, "Lento," "Animato," and "Adagio," share some thematic material; the slow movements each end with lyrical viola solos. Leonard Bernstein conducted the Notturno's "Adagio" movement at Fine's memorial concert in 1962.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Jennifer DeLapp.


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications