• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Fine called this ten-minute work, commissioned and premiered by the Louisville Philharmonic Orchestra, "essentially an extended aria for string orchestra." Its moods shift between passion and tenderness, desperation and serenity. Its musical materials demonstrate the composer's fascination with modal harmonies and third-related keys. Framing the middle section in C minor are opening and closing sections centered on E sometimes major, sometimes minor and other times Phrygian in mode.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Jennifer DeLapp.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications