• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

perc4:gong/chimes/4tom-t/sizzle cym/sleigh bells/2wdbl/BD

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

The theme of my Viola Concerto is the transformation of the relationship between the soloist and the orchestra. The beautiful but slightly veiled voice of the viola is surrounded by the terrible power of the full orchestra. There is an insistent pattern: the viola initiates the activity, the orchestra at first following. The soloist gradually unleashes the force of the orchestra as the orchestra seizes upon moments in his discourse and imitates, underlines, elaborates, and transforms them.

Three times the orchestra builds into overwhelming blocks of sounds which are not related to the material of the soloist, but to each other. These masses slowly rearrange their internal harmonies, repeatedly moving from impenetrable density to a more stable clarity. They also serve to define the larger form of the work, which is in one movement of seven sections: solo viola, ORCH., solo viola, ORCH., solo viola, ORCH., solo viola.

– Jacob Druckman


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications