• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
St Magnus Cathedral, Kirkwall, Orkney
Nash Ensemble
Composer's Notes

I wrote this short movement for Piano Quintet to celebrate one of the birthdays of the composer Peter Maxwell Davies. I have always had a great admiration for him and had regarded him as a kind of mentor. The music is reflective and modal in nature, and was inspired by the Celtic north, which has meant so much to both of us as composers.

© James MacMillan 2008

Reproduction Rights:
This programme note may be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications