• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Scoring (or other similar folk-like instrument)-strings

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Barbican Centre, London
London Symphony Orchestra / Colin Davis CBE
Composer's Notes

The dark, brooding cloud of fate, that had been hovering over St Petersburg, lifted and drifted west to Sweden, where it made an amorous encounter with a young tightrope walker, Elvira Madigan. They eloped, and headed west again, ending up at a ceilidh in Kilkenny or Kilmarnock, or somewhere...

©James MacMillan 2007

Reproduction Rights:
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Press Quotes

"Imagine Mozart and Tchaikovsky in kilts, thrown into the middle of a highland fling."
Financial Times 

"...an irreverent deconstruction of the two big works heard earlier — the Tchaikovsky 4th symphony and Mozart’s Elvira Madigan Piano Concerto, K467... Stomp went through all sorts of wacky distortions before being whisked, ceilidh-style, into a punch-drunk jig of delight."
The Times 



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications