• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Wigmore Hall, London
Nicholas Daniel, oboe / Jacqueline Shave, violin / Timothy Ridout, viola / Guy Johnston, cello
Composer's Notes

Flowing (crotchet =60)
Presto con fuoco (crotchet = 150)
Slow and expressive (crotchet = 60)

The piece begins with the solo oboe weaving its way through a brittle and expressive string texture. With each passing phrase the tension and energy builds leading to a dramatic outburst in the string parts.

The second movement is fast and full of energy. The viola and cello drive forward with aggressive semi-quavers whilst the violin and oboe intertwine with gnarly, angular material. The unstable semi-quaver outbursts from the beginning of the work repeat and punctuate the texture. Subsequently the cello becomes the lead voice in a scurrying tarantella-like passage. The music revisits the opening sound-world before disappearing off into the ether.

The last movement is slow and deeply expressive, showcasing the beautiful tone and powerful musicality of the work’s dedicatee, Nicholas Daniel.

My Oboe Quartet is dedicated to Nicholas Daniel in admiration and Christian Jessen.

Programme note © Mark Simpson 2019

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications