• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

2(I=picc).1.2(I=Ebcl).bcl.1(=dbn)-1(=mouth org).1(=picctpt).1(=mouth org).1(=mouth org)-perc(2):I=metal spring(lg)/xyl/SD/crot(set)/2gongs/2cowbells/tam-t(lg)/tgl(med)/tamb/steel dr/thunder sheet(thin); II=steel spring(med)/vib/glsp/crot(set)/2gongs/2cowbells/tam-t(med)/t.bells/chimes/steel dr/thunder sheet(thin)-sampler(elec.pft/cel)-strings(; db=mouth org)

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Hauptschule Sporthalle, Schwaz
Thomas Larcher, piano / Birmingham Contemporary Music Group / Pierre-André Valade
Programme Note

A programme note by Stefan Drees is available on request at [email protected]

Repertoire Note

"Neuwirth’s work locus...doublure...solus is an important addition to the repertoire – a compendium of seven movements exploring different aspects of pianistic style. The timbres of the soloist are complemented by a ‘double’ on sampler keyboard, expanding the piano’s pitch universe with microtones, and the ensemble similarly explores an extended musical space. This work demonstrates her skill as a creative organizer of sounds. Her material is in a state of flux so that the listener’s ear is drawn into what can be an intriguingly disorientating experience." (Pierre Boulez)

Press Quotes

"...a distinctive vision of the piano concerto in the 21st century." (Tom Service, The Guardian, 09 May 2006)

"Neuwirth loves directness, obstinacy, clear-cut shapes … in the seven-part locus...doublure...solus, Olga Neuwirth creates a labyrinth of fantastically growing tendrils and break-offs while her combinatorial way of dealing with sounds erupts into breakneck superimpositions of rhythmic gestures and changes of perspectives as fast as lightning." (Wolfgang Schreiber, Süddeutsche Zeitung, 15 Oct 2002)


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications