• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes (Hendon Music)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Cotuit Center for the Arts, Cotuit, MA
Jon Manasse, clarinet / Jon Nakamatsu, piano
Composer's Notes

Composed by Paquito D'Rivera for clarinetist Jon Manasse and pianist Jon Nakamatsu

Benny @ 100
Inspired by Benny Goodman’s unique way of jazz phrasing, as well as his incursion in the so-called “classical” arena, this movement is a celebration of the most famous clarinetist’s 100th birthday.

An Argentinean Milonga that recreates the nostalgic sound of the exotic instrument that in the opinion of many, represents the very soul of the Tango.

Unaccompanied solo clarinet improvisations around some of the melodies written by the foremost of the Cuban composers, pianist extraordinaire Ernesto Lecuona.

Chiquita Blues
Using elements of the American 12 bar blues, as well as traditional Cuban Danzón and contemporary atonal music, the final movement of The Cape Cod Files was inspired by Antonio Orlando Rodríguez’s novel “Chiquita,” based on the life of a 26 inch tall Cuban Lilliputian singer and actress who achieved great success in New York at the end of the IXX, beginning of the XX century.

Paquito D’Rivera


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications