• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Libretto by Michael Symmons Roberts; German version by Jan Michael Horstmann (E,G)


1.1.1(=bcl).dbn- gongs/2wdbl/5tom-t/2bongos/SD/BD/susp.cym/sizzle cym/2tam-t(sm,lg)-harp-pft-strings( or string orch)-2tapes

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

For full details on this stagework, including synopsis and roles, please visit our Opera section.

World Premiere
Corn Exchange, Cambridge
Lisa Milne/Christopher Purves/John Fulljames, dir / Britten Sinfonia / James MacMillan
Programme Note
Press Quotes

"...rhapsodically lyrical music, soaring phrases floridly decorated at their end, together with flawlessly atmospheric orchestration and lacerating rhythmic drive..."
Glasgow Herald

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications