• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Ulla Hahn (G-E)

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes (Hendon Music)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Carnegie Hall, New York, NY
Jan Vogler, cello / Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra / Members of Hamburger Alsterspatzen / Audi Jugendchorakademie / Soloists of Kreuzchor Dresden / Young ClassX Ensemble / Young New Yorkers Chorus / Kent Nagano
Press Quotes

The New York Times
“massive and earnest piece”

“Shepherd has a fantastic gift for orchestral color; for example, in the sixth movement, he juxtaposes a rapturous, lyrical passage for solo cello with winds, brass, harp, piano and percussion … to glittering, mysterious effect.”

“Shepherd used the cello more as an actor who steps into a variety of roles to present occasional plaintive and virtuosic soliloquies against a colossal backdrop: here, a melancholic companion for the singers, trading a melody back and forth; there, channeling the spirit of a beleaguered Mother Earth.”

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications