• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
De Doelen, Rotterdam
Die 12 Cellisten der Berliner Philharmoniker
Composer's Notes

When one thinks of the cello, possibly the first attribute that comes to mind is its lyrical and sensual expressiveness. But it also has another side: an earthy intensity that can be transformed into a rough, charged, and almost manic virtuosity. It is this latter affect that I sought in Spark. With a ceaseless stream of repeated notes and figurations, Spark continually charges forward, the low, earthy tone of the cellos only occasionally interrupted by brief, effervescent flashes of harmonics, which fly by like sparks. The work is written for the 12 Celli of the Berlin Philharmonic.


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications