• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The 150th anniversary of the birth of Ralph Vaughan Williams falls on 12 October 2022, offering opportunities to explore and celebrate the life and music of this influential British composer, whose classic works are loved throughout the world.

The music of Ralph Vaughan Williams published by Oxford University Press is promoted here under license by Boosey & Hawkes.

As Ralph Vaughan Williams’s 150th anniversary approaches on 12 October 2022, we invite you to join worldwide celebrations of the composer’s music during the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 seasons. Vaughan Williams’ best-known works, widely beloved by a broad range of audiences for their sweeping emotional immediacy, include the transcendent The Lark Ascending, Five Variants of 'Dives and Lazarus', Sinfonia Antarctica, Serenade to Music, as well as the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth symphonies.

Read on to explore lesser-known gems of RVW’s output, new chamber orchestra editions, and programmatic themes. For more information, read Oxford University Press's brochure.

Works to Explore
The RVW catalogue includes numerous works ripe for discovery, including potential country premieres.

  • A Road All Paved with Stars: A symphonic fantasy on themes from RVW’s opera The Poisoned Kiss
  • Fat Knight Suite: An orchestral suite from RVW’s opera Sir John in Love (selections available)
  • Norfolk Rhapsody No. 2: Well paired as a set with the famous First Rhapsody
  • Scott of the Antarctic: Complete film music. Also available soon to perform live with the film
  • Four Last Songs: A new chamber orchestra edition available for this set of songs for mezzo soprano or baritone, composed during the composer's final years

Works for Ensemble & Chamber Orchestra
Explore new chamber versions of The Lark Ascending and Dona Nobis Pacem, and many other works for reduced forces:

Programmatic Themes
Potential programming connections and themes for RVW’s music include:

  • Early music inspiration
  • Folk music inspiration
  • Pacifism and responses to the World Wars
  • Music of his teachers Bruch, Ravel, Parry, and Stanford
  • Music of close contemporaries Gustav Holst and Gerald Finzi
  • Music of students Constant Lambert, Armstrong Gibbs, and Grace Williams

> View the OUP brochure
> Listen on Spotify

Classic Vaughan Williams works published by Boosey & Hawkes include On Wenlock Edge, Songs of Travel and the Four Hymns for tenor, solo viola and strings. For further information on these works please contact Emma Kerr, VP Promotion (Boosey & Hawkes).

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications