• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Conductor Joana Carneiro leads the Berkeley Symphony in world premiere of Enrico Chapela's Private Alleles

Enrico Chapela's Private Alleles will receive its world premiere on Thursday, December 2, 2010 by Berkeley Symphony, led by conductor Joana Carneiro. This new work by Chapela, one of the newest additions to the Boosey & Hawkes composer roster, is inspired by the Mexican Genome Diversity Project, a study that analyzes genetic heterogeneity between and within different regions of Mexico. Both Private Alleles and Chapela's Genómica Mestiza, which received a world premiere in Mexico City on September 3 by the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas led by conductor Alondra De la Parra, were written to commemorate the Mexican Bicentennial. The performance by Berkeley Symphony will be held at UC Berkeley Zellerbach Hall at 8:00 p.m. Chapela will discuss Private Alleles in a pre-concert talk with The New York Times correspondent Chloe Veltman at 7:10 p.m.

Two other works by Chapela will receive performances this season. Conductor Joana Carneiro will lead Chapela's Li Po with the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra on February 17, 2011. Li Po was premiered by the Los Angeles Philharmonic by then-Music Director Esa-Pekka Salonen. The Britten Sinfonia will perform the world premiere of Nanobots on April 12, 2011, with additional performances on April 13, 2011 at London's Wigmore Hall and April 15 at The Assembly House in Norwich, United Kingdom.

Born in Mexico City in 1974, Enrico Chapela studied at the Musical Education and Research Center (CIEM), where he obtained degrees in guitar performance and compositional techniques. Since the year 2000, he has devoted himself to composing with the support of grants from the National Fund for Arts and Culture (FONCA), and the Musical Education and Research Center (CIEM). He received a Masters degree in Electro-Acoustic Music from the University of Paris Saint-Denis, where he studied with Horacio Vaggione and José Manuel López López. In Paris, he also attended lectures by Tristan Murail and Salvatore Sciarrino. Currently, Enrico Chapela is studying for a doctoral degree in musicology & composition and is a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellow.

Enrico Chapela's music has been performed all over the world by performers such as the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas, Percussion Group Cincinnati, Anacrusax, Cosmos sax quartet, Arditti string quartet, Carpentier string quartet, Gonzalo Salazar, Mauricio Náder, and Guilherme Carvalho. He has been commissioned to compose music for Cuarteto Latinoamericano, ONIX ensemble, Lab 33 project, NYYU ensemble, New Paths in Music Festival, Carlos Chávez Symphony Orchestra, University of Cincinnati's CCM Symphony Orchestra, Dresden Sinfoniker, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas, Berkeley Symphony, Britten Sinfonia and Wigmore Hall.

Since 2002, several of his works have obtained recognition at national and international competitions. ínguesu was a recommended work at the International Rostrum of Composers of the UNESCO, selected work at the Mexican Music Tribune, and first prize winner at the Alexander Zemlinsky Competition. La Mengambrea was a selected work by the Mexican Music Tribune, and gained an honorary mention at the ANACRUSAX Sax Quartet Composition Contest. La Condena was a selected work by the Latin America and Caribbean Music Tribune, a recommended work at the International Rostrum of Composers, and a selected work by the Mexican Music Tribune.

Enrico Chapela released his first professional recording ANTAGÓNICA in 2006, produced by CIEM-Consecuencias with the support of the National Fund for Arts and Culture (FONCA). In 2010, ínguesu was featured on Alondra de la Parra's CD My Mexican Soul with the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas at Sony Music.

Click here for a score sample of Private Alleles.

>  Further information on Performance: Private Alleles

>  Further information on Work: Private Alleles

Photo: Enrico Chapela (© Bernd Uhlig)

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications