• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Anna Clyne is the CSO's Mead Composer-in-Residence

UPDATE: The Chicago Symphony Orchestra performances of <<rewind<< in Chicago and New York were cancelled.

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra (CSO) will perform two works by Anna Clyne, one of the newest additions to the Boosey & Hawkes composer roster, in Chicago and New York in early 2011. CSO Music Director Riccardo Muti will lead <<rewind<< at Chicago's Symphony Center, February 10-12, 15 and April 8 and at New York's Carnegie Hall on April 17. Clyne's new work for brass and accompanying tape, Spangled Unicorn, will have its world premiere at the CSO's MusicNOW series on March 21 at Chicago's Harris Theater for Music and Dance, led by Principal Conductor Cliff Colnot.

Riccardo Muti says of Clyne: "[She] is an artist who writes from the heart, who defies categorization and who reaches across all barriers and boundaries. Her compositions are meant to be played by great musicians and listened to by enthusiastic audiences no matter what their background."

<<rewind<< (2006), scored for full orchestra and optional tape, is the first major work of Clyne's performed by the CSO during her tenure as Mead Composer-in-Residence. This high energy composition is characterized by repetitive gestures and fast tempos, and was inspired by the sounds made by an analog tape as it is run backwards, warping and freezing at various moments. Since its world premiere in New York, <<rewind<< has been performed by the Minnesota Orchestra and the American Composers Orchestra, the BBC Concert Orchestra, and the Cabrillo Festival Orchestra. These concerts mark the first CSO performances of the work. <<rewind<< will also be performed at London's Barbican Centre by the BBC Symphony Orchestra during the venue's tribute to Steve Reich in May 2011.

Spangled Unicorn (2011) stems directly from Clyne's association with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. After listening to the ensemble following her arrival in Chicago, she was overwhelmed by the sound of the orchestra's legendary brass section. As a result, she created a new work specifically for these musicians (3 trumpets, 3 horns, 3 trombones, 1 tuba), to be performed with accompanying audio tape at the season's final MusicNow performance. This marks the CSO's first world premiere performance of a work by Clyne. Earlier this season, the CSO performed steelworks, for flute, bass clarinet, percussion, and tape, at the inaugural MusicNow concert in October 2010, also led by Principal Conductor Cliff Colnot.

Clyne, who will be a Guest Composer at the University of Missouri's 2011 Mizzou New Music Festival, was appointed by CSO Music Director Riccardo Muti to serve as the Orchestra's Mead Composer-in-Residence through the 2011-2012 season, along with fellow composer Mason Bates. Clyne and Bates will work on new commissions from the Orchestra, curate and co-program the MusicNow concerts, develop collaborations with artists across other disciplines within the Chicago area, and will be involved in a program working with local incarcerated youths.

> For further information of Anna Clyne, click here.
> For a score sample of Anna Clyne's <<rewind<<, click here.
> To purchase tickets for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in Chicago, click here.
> To purchase tickets for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in New York, click here.

For press interviews with Anna Clyne and photos, please contact:
Eric M. Gewirtz
, Director, Media and Public Relations
[email protected] (212) 358 5361

Hilary Jansen, Publicity Assistant
[email protected] (212) 358 5377

>  Further information on Work: Spangled Unicorn (WITHDRAWN)

Photo Credit: Todd Rosenberg

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications