• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Published in March 2010, A Parliament of Owls is a celebration of collective nouns in three contrasting movements, with saxophone, percussion and piano duet accompaniment. English collective nouns encapsulate in an intrinsically attractive way something characteristic of the group, for example 'a gaggle of geese', 'a piteousness of doves', or 'an ostentation of peacocks'.

Carol Barratt's text assembles these evocative expressions into hilarious nonsense poems entitled 'Irrestistible and noisy', 'Quietly sitting still' and 'Monstrous mayhem' which will challenge your choir's powers of enunciation as never before.

This riotous piece which will entertain performers and audience alike, and very likely bring the house down! To be sung in English, with German and French reference translations included. Suitable for choirs of intermediate standard and above.

>  Further information on Work: A Parliament of Owls (SATB version)

>  Further information on A Parliament of Owls (SATB, Percussion, Piano)

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications