• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

“So now she has done it!” wrote the Salzburger Nachrichten of Olga Neuwirth’s much anticipated concerto for her own favourite instrument, the trumpet. “She found a way into the heart – and was rightly celebrated.”

The strikingly successful premiere of “…miramondo multiplo…” took place on the prestigious stage of the Salzburg Festival on 20 August, with the dream team of Håkan Hardenberger as soloist, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Pierre Boulez.

Commissioned by the Salzburg Festival, Radio France and the Stockholm Concert Hall Foundation, the concerto has further performances featuring Hardenberger as soloist scheduled with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra and Alan Gilbert (29 March) and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France in Montpellier (December 2007). The Dutch premiere takes place at a ZaterdagMatinée concert in Amsterdam (9 June).

“… a brilliant rivalry between the elements… a precisely staged feast of orchestral colours.”
Suddeutscher Zeitung

“Neuwirth has created a compact work for trumpet…[which] represents a multifarious observation and admiration of the world (miramondo multiplo). She lures the listeners into a skilfully joined, shimmering realm of random memory tableaux, where you meet, for example, Miles Davis, Berg, Mahler, Messiaen and even Handel.” Die Presse

“In her 20-minute work for trumpet and orchestra, Neuwirth does not employ the concerto principle in the sense of rival friction. Rather, she creates, as in a kaleidoscope, a fulfilled ideal of peaceful cooperation, of coexistence based on freedom… The five movements draw the listener into a labyrinth of memories, where Handel’s Lascia ch’io piango meets the fanfare out of Mahler’s 5th symphony, and snatches of a Stravinsky march meet the jazz idiom of Miles Davis… the solo protagonist is led via numerous uncertainties, dangers and delusions to freedom.”
Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

“Each of the five movements, all called Aria, tells its own complex stories. Together, they create a multidimensional, richly facetted perspective. The dramatic eruption, over which the trumpet soars unperturbed, is followed by whirring and floating and an invocation of Mahler. The third movement is moving along with urgency, the fourth leads to a peacefully quiet, iridescent glowing, the last aria is characterised by an involved passionate dialogue with a fanfare finale.”
Kronen Zeitung

>  Further information on Work: ... miramondo multiplo...

Photo: Olga Neuwirth & Håkan Hardenberger © Beatrix Neiss / Marco Borggreve

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications