• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

On 8 May, the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra, Heilbronn, will perform Johannes X. Schachtner's latest work I Quattro Sonetti Vivaldiani for the first time in Heilbronn, Germany.

The world premiere of Johannes X. Schachtner's I Quattro Sonetti Vivaldiani in Heilbronn on 8 May features soloists Inga Jäger (alto) and Lena Neudauer (violin) with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra conducted by the composer. The piece, scored for alto voice, violin, strings and harpsichord, takes Vivaldi’s Four Seasons as its starting point.

Schachtner comments below:
“In addition to the scores of the famous violin concertos, which have gone down in music history as the Four Seasons, four sonnets have also survived from the pen of Antonio Vivaldi, each describing a season. Probably inspired by sonnets by an English writer who was in Venice at the time the concertos were composed, these sonnets are not mere programmes for the concertos, which by today’s standards are dubbed programme music. Rather, the sonnets are atmospheric narratives and expressive observations (the exact programme of what is depicted in the music is noted by Vivaldi in the musical text of the concertos with a few key words).

A wide variety of musical additions to the four non-evening-length concertos of the Four Seasons have already been heard, and in my search for such a programme supplement, I had the idea not only to set the delightful sonnets to music, but to also create a dramaturgy for a concert evening. Thus there are composed transitions, but also some overlays. Even though the newly composed sections are written in my own contemporary idiom, through the compositional process it has always become a rapprochement, an encounter with the baroque sound language, sound speech and sound aesthetics. Sometimes the transition from baroque affects to 'today's' was actually surprisingly small".

The concert will be conducted by the composer himself and recorded by Deutschlandfunk / SWR for future broadcasts.
> Further concert information
> Discover Schachtner’s music

Photo: Sikorski Archives

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications